Inauguration of the 101st General Assembly in Springfield.

State Representatives John Cabello, R-Machesney Park, and Joe Sosnowski, R-Rockford, took the oath of office for a new term on Wednesday, joining all 118 members of the Illinois House of Representatives for the inauguration of the 101st General Assembly held at the Sangamon Auditorium. Sosnowski has served the 69th District since 2011 and Cabello has represented the 68th District since 2012.
“We are going to fight against proposed tax increases and work together to find common ground with the new Governor on needed changes to create jobs, strengthen schools and enact true property tax relief,” Cabello and Sosnowski said. “Illinois presently ranks second in the nation for people leaving for lower taxes and better opportunities elsewhere. Our first and most immediate priority in 2019 is to reverse this trend by making Illinois more competitive for job creators and more affordable for families and seniors.” 

The House of Representatives for the new 101st General Assembly is comprised of 74 Democrats and 44 Republicans. Representative Michael J. Madigan of Chicago was re-elected Speaker of the House for another two-year term. Representative Jim Durkin of Western Springs was re-elected Minority Leader.